Find the latest Coronavirus-related transportation statistics on the BTS Covid-19 landing page

Legacy Publication

You are here



U.S. Department of Transportation

Norman Y. Mineta

Kirk Van Tine
Deputy Secretary

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Rick Kowalewski
Deputy Director

William J. Chang
Associate Director for Information Systems

John V. Wells
Chief Economist

Produced under the direction of:
Michael P. Cohen
Assistant Director for Survey Programs

Felix Ammah-Tagoe

William Moore

Major Contributors
Bill Bannister
Adhi Dipo
Wendell Fletcher
Charlie Han
Michael Margreta
David Smallen
John Wells

Other Contributors
Russ Capelle
Scott Dennis
Ron Duych
Chester Ford
Michele Janis
Joy Sharp
Caesar Singh
Julie Smith
Michael Szustakowski

Layout and Cover Design
Lorisa Smith

Special Acknowledgement
Special thanks to our partners at the U.S. Census Bureau who cosponsor and conduct the Commodity Flow Survey. The 2002 CFS was conducted under the direction of:

Thomas Zabelsky
U.S. Census Bureau
Assistant Division Chief for Current Services and Transportation Programs

Ruth Detlefsen
U.S. Census Bureau
Assistant Division Chief for Research and Methodology

Our mission is to lead in developing transportation data and information of high quality and to advance their effective use in both public and private transportation decisionmaking.

Our vision for the future: Data and information of high quality will support every significant transportation policy decision, thus advancing the quality of life and economic well-being of all Americans.

To obtain copies of this and other Commodity Flow Survey products:

Copies of this preliminary highlights report, Freight Shipments in America, may be obtained by contacting BTS at 1-800-853-1351 or by emailing

Copies of the 2002 Economic Census: Transportation Commodity Flow Survey, Preliminary Report may be obtained through the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) Internet Web site at

Information Service and Products

Phone: 1-800-853-1351

Updated: Saturday, May 20, 2017