USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Box A: How are Modes Defined?

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Box A: How are Modes Defined?

The Intermodal Passenger Connectivity Database categorizes scheduled passenger transportation services by five major mode categories and a total of 11 subcategories. The major categories and their sub-categories are:

Mode Sub-categories
Air Air service
Bus Intercity bus
Transit bus
Code share bus
Supplemental bus
Ferry Intercity ferry
Transit ferry
Standard rail Commuter rail
Intercity rail
Transit rail Heavy rail
Light rail

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Transportation, Research and Innovative Technology Administration, Bureau of Transportation Statistics.

Most of the analyses presented in this report discuss connections to the major mode categories shown above. However, the report also examines connections between intercity and transit modes. The intercity and transit modes include the following sub-categories of service:

Intercity Transit
Air service Transit bus
Intercity bus Code Share bus
Code share bus Supplemental bus
Supplemental bus Transit ferry
Intercity ferry Commuter rail
Intercity rail Heavy rail
Light rail

NOTE: Code share and supplemental bus may provide intercity or transit service depending upon whether it code-shares with, or supplements service for, an intercity mode or a transit mode.