USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Table 2-3. Key Provisions of Safety Belt Use Laws: 2000

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Table 2-3. Key Provisions of Safety Belt Use Laws: 2000

Excel | CSV

State Effective1 Enforcement2 Fine Seats Vehicles exempted3
Alabama 7/18/92 Primary $25 Front Designed for more than 10 passengers
Alaska 9/12/90 Secondary $15 All School bus
Arizona 1/1/91 Secondary $10 Front Designed for more than 10 passengers; model year before 1972
Arkansas 7/15/91 Secondary $254 Front School bus, church bus, public bus
California 1/1/86 Primary $205 All None
Colorado 7/1/87 Secondary $15 Front Passenger bus, school bus
Connecticut 1/1/86 Primary $15 Front Truck or bus over 15,000 lbs.
Delaware 1/1/92 Secondary $20 Front None
District of Columbia 12/12/85 Primary $506 All Seating more than 8 people
Florida 7/1/86 Secondary $30 Front School bus, public bus, truck over 5,000 lbs.
Georgia 9/1/88 Primary $15 Front Designed for more than 10 passengers, pickup
Hawaii 2/16/85 Primary $45 Front Bus or school bus over 10,000 lbs.
Idaho 7/1/86 Secondary $5 Front Over 8,000 lbs.
Illinois 7/1/85 Secondary $25 Front None
Indiana 7/1/87 Primary $25 Front Truck, tractor, RV
Iowa 7/1/86 Primary $10 Front None
Kansas 7/1/86 Secondary $10 Front Designed for more than 10 people, truck over 12,000 lbs.
Kentucky 7/13/94 Secondary $25 All Designed for more than 10 people
Louisiana 7/1/86 Primary $257 Front Manufactured before 1/1/81
Maine 12/27/95 Secondary $50 All None
Maryland 7/1/86 Primary $25 Front Historic vehicle
Massachusetts 2/1/94 Secondary $25 All Truck over 18,000 lbs., bus, taxi
Michigan 7/1/85 Primary $25 Front Bus
Minnesota 8/1/86 Secondary $25 Front Farm pickup truck
Mississippi 3/20/90 Secondary $25 Front Farm vehicle, bus
Missouri 9/28/85 Secondary $10 Front Designed for more than 10 people, truck over 12,000 lbs.
Montana 10/1/87 Secondary $20 All None
Nebraska 1/1/93 Secondary $25 Front Manufactured before 1973
Nevada 7/1/87 Secondary $25 All Taxi, bus, school bus
New Hampshire None NA NA NA NA
New Jersey 3/1/85 Secondary $20 Front None
New Mexico 1/1/86 Primary $25 Front Vehicle over 10,000 lbs.
New York 12/1/84 Primary $50 Front Bus, school bus, taxi
North Carolina 10/1/85 Primary $25 Front Designed for more than 10 people
North Dakota 7/14/94 Secondary $20 Front Designed for more than 10 people
Ohio 5/6/86 Secondary $25 Front None
Oklahoma 2/1/87 Primary $20 Front Farm vehicle, truck, truck tractor, RV
Oregon 12/7/90 Primary $75 All None
Pennsylvania 11/23/87 Secondary $10 Front Truck over 7,000 lbs.
Rhode Island 6/18/91 Secondary $50 All None
South Carolina 7/1/89 Secondary $10 All School bus, public bus
South Dakota 1/1/95 Secondary $20 Front Bus, school bus
Tennessee 4/21/86 Secondary $50 Front Vehicle over 8,500 lbs.
Texas 9/1/85 Primary $50 Front Designed for more than 10 people, truck over 15,000 lbs.
Utah 4/28/86 Secondary $45 Front Vehicle over 10,000 lbs., school/public bus, taxi
Vermont 1/1/94 Secondary $10 All Bus, taxi
Virginia 1/1/88 Secondary $25 Front Designed for more than 10 people, taxi
Washington 6/11/86 Secondary $35 All Designed for more than 10 people
West Virginia 9/1/93 Secondary $25 Front Designed for more than 10 people
Wisconsin 12/1/87 Secondary $10 All Taxi, farm truck
Wyoming 6/8/89 Secondary $25 Front Designed for more than 10 people, bus

1 Effective date of first belt law in the state;
2
Primary enforcement enables police officers to stop vehicles and write citations whenever they observe a violation of the seat belt law. Secondary enforcement allows police officers to write a citation for seat belt infractions only after stopping a vehicle for some other traffic infraction;
3
Most states exempt vehicles not manufactured with seat belts;
4 Plus 3 points on license;
5
Fine for first offense;
6 Plus 2 points on license;
7 Penalty could include 30 days in jail.

KEY: NA = not applicable; RV = recreational vehicle.

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Traffic Safety Facts 2000, Washington, DC: 2001, available at http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/pdf/nrd-30/NCSA/TSFAnn/TSF2000.pdf as of Jan. 4, 2002.