USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Table 2-7: Impaired Driving Laws: 2000

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Table 2-7: Impaired Driving Laws: 2000

Excel | CSV

 State Administrative per se (BAC level) Illegal per se (BAC level) Lower BAC for youthful DWI offenders (BAC level and age) License sanction (Mandatory minimum for a DWI conviction)
First offense Second offense Third offense
Alabama Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-90 days R-1 yr R-3 yrs
Alaska Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.00 (<21) R-30 days R-1 yr R-10 yrs
Arizona Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.00 (<21) S-90 days R-1 yr R-3 yrs
Arkansas Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms Nms Nms
California Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.01 (<21) Nms Nms R-18 mos
Colorado Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-1 yr R-1 yr
Connecticut Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms Nms Nms
Delaware Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-6 mos R-6 mos
District of Columbia Y-0.05 0.08 Y-0.00 (<21) R-6 mos R-1 yr R-2 yrs
Florida Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-12 mos R-24 mos
Georgia Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms S-120 days R-5 yrs
Hawaii Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days S-1 yr R-1 yr
Idaho Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days S-1 yr S-1 yr
Illinois Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms Nms Nms
Indiana Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days S-1 yr S-1 yr
Iowa Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) R-30 days R-1 yr R-1 yr
Kansas Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days S-1 yr S-1 yr
Kentucky A 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days R-12 mos R-24 mos
Louisiana Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms Nms Nms
Maine Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.00 (<21) S-60 days S-18 mos S-4 yrs
Maryland Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms Nms Nms
Massachusetts Y-0.08 N Y-0.02 (<21) S-45 days R-6 mos R-2 yrs
Michigan N 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-1 yr S-5 yrs
Minnesota Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.00 (<21) R-15 days R-90 days R-90 days
Mississippi Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days S-1 yr S-3 yrs
Missouri Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days R-2 yrs R-3 yrs
Montana N 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-3 mos R-3 mos
Nebraska Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) R-60 days R-1 yr R-1 yr
Nevada Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) R-45 days R-1 yr R-1.5 yrs
New Hampshire Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) R-90 days R-3 yrs R-3 yrs
New Jersey N 0.10 Y-0.01 (<21) R-6 mos R-2 yrs R-10 yrs
New Mexico Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-30 days R-30 days
New York A 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-I yr R-1 yr
North Carolina Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.00 (<21) Nms R-2 yrs R-3 yrs
North Dakota Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days S-365 days S-2 yrs
Ohio Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) S-15 days S-30 days S-180 days
Oklahoma Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.00 (<21) Nms R-1 yr R-1 yr
Oregon Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.00 (<21) Nms S-90 days S-1 yr
Pennsylvania N 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) S-1 mo S-12 mos S-12 mos
Rhode Island N 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-3 mos S-1 yr S-2 yrs
South Carolina Y-0.15 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms S-1 yr S-4 yrs
South Dakota N 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-1 yr R-1 yr
Tennessee N 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-2 yrs R-3 yrs
Texas Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.00 (<21) Nms Nms Nms
Utah Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.00 (<21) S-90 days R-1 yrs R-1 yrs
Vermont Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-90 days S-18 mos R-2 yrs
Virginia Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-1 yr R-3 yrs
Washington Y-0.08 0.08 Y-0.02 (<21) S-30 days R-1 yr R-2 yrs
West Virginia Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) R-30 days R-1 yr R-1 yr
Wisconsin Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms R-60 days R-90 days
Wyoming Y-0.10 0.10 Y-0.02 (<21) Nms S-1 yr R-3 yrs

KEY: BAC = blood alcohol content; DWI = driving while intoxicated; Y = yes; N = no; A = alternative; S = suspension; R = revocation; Nms = no mandatory sanction.

NOTES: An "administrative per se law" allows a state's driver licensing agency to either suspend or revoke a driver's license based on a specific alcohol (or drug) concentration or on some other criterion related to alcohol or drug use and driving. Such action is independent of any licensing action related to a DWI criminal offense. The term "illegal per se" refers to state laws that make it a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle at or above a specified alcohol (or drug) concentration in the blood, breath, or urine. In those columns showing mandatory sanctions, "nms" does not mean that a state does not have a sanction. It only means that the state does not have a mandatory sanction for that offense or violation.

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Traffic Safety Facts 2000, Washington, DC: 2001, available at http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/pdf/nrd-30/NCSA/TSFAnn/TSF2000.pdf as of Jan. 4, 2002.