USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Federal Exhaust Emission Certification Standards for Newly Manufactured Gasoline- and Diesel-Powered Light-Duty Vehicles

(Grams per mile)

Embedded Dataset Excel:

Dataset Excel:

table_04_30q111_1.xlsx (15.88 KB)


KEY: CO = carbon monoxide; CVS = constant volume sampler; HC = hydrocarbons; NMHC = non-methane hydrocarbons; NMOG = nonmethane organic gases; NOx = nitrogen oxides.

a The test procedure for measuring exhaust emissions has changed several times over the course of vehicle emissions regulations.  The 7-mode procedure was used through model year 1971 and was replaced by the CVS-72 procedure beginning in model year 1972.  The CVS-75 procedure became the test procedure as of model year 1975.  While it may appear that the total HC and CO standards were relaxed in 1972-74, these standards were actually more stringent due to the more stringent nature of the CVS-72 test procedure.  Additional standards for CO and composite standards for NMHC and NOx tested under the new Supplemental Federal Test Procedure will be phased-in beginning with model year 2000; these standards are not shown in this table.

b All emissions standards must be met for a useful life of 5 years/50,000 miles.  Beginning with model year 1994, a second set of emissions standards must also be met for a full useful life of 10 years/100,000 miles; these standards are shown in parentheses. Tier 1 exhaust standards were phased-in during 1994-96 at a rate of 40%, 80%, and 100%, respectively.

c The cold CO emissions standard is measured at 20 0F (rather than 75 0F) and is applicable for a 5-year/50,000-mile useful life.

d The "Prior to control" column reports emissions estimates of a typical newly manufactured car in the years before exhaust emissions certification standards were implemented.

e No estimate available.

f Manufacturers can opt to certify vehicles for a full useful life of 15 years/150,000 miles and have either 1) intermediate useful life standards waived or 2) receive additional NOx credits.

g In 1968-69, exhaust emissions standards were issued in parts per million rather than grams per mile and are, therefore, incompatible with this table.

h No standard has been set.

I The term "tier" refers to a level of standards and is associated with specific years.  Interim Tier 2 refers to an intermediate level of standards that move manufacturers toward compliance with Tier 2 standards.   Interim Tier 2 and Tier 2 standards are established as "bins."  Each bin is a set of standards for NOx, CO, NMOG, formaldehyde, and particulate matter; HC and NMHC standards are dropped for Tier 2 and Interim Tier 2.  Manufacturers may certify any given vehicle family to any of the bins available for that vehicle class as long as the resulting sales-weight corporate average NOx standard is met for the full useful life of the vehicle.  The Tier 2 corporate average NOx standard is 0.07 grams/mile.  Interim corporate-based average NOx standards are based on vehicle type.  The interim sales-weighted average for light-duty vehicles (LDVs) is 9.3 grams/mile.  For LDVs, Tier 2 standards will be phased in at a rate of 25% in 2004, 50% in 2005, 75% in 2006, and 100% in 2007.  During this period, all LDVs not meeting the Tier 2 standards must meet Interim Tier 2 standards.


40 CFR 86, Subpart A (July 1, 2000).

Federal Register, Vol. 65, No. 28, pp. 6851-6858.