USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Federal Exhaust Emission Certification Standards for Newly Manufactured Gasoline- and Diesel-Powered Light-Duty Trucks

(Category LDT1) (Grams per mile)

Embedded Dataset Excel:

Dataset Excel:

table_04_31q207.xlsx (17.35 KB)


KEY:  CO=carbon monoxide; CVS = constant volume sampler; GVWR=gross vehicle weight rating; HC=hydrocarbons; LVW=loaded vehicle weight; NMHC=nonmethane hydrocarbons; NMOG= nonmethane organic gases; NOx=nitrogen oxides. 

a Light-duty truck categories LDT1-LDT4 were not  created until 1994.  From 1968 to 1978, all trucks with a GVWR up to 6,000 pounds were classified as light-duty trucks and were required to meet the same standards.  As of 1979, the maximum weight was raised to 8,500 pounds GVWR.  During 1988-93, light duty trucks were divided into two subcategories that coincide with the current LDT1-LDT4 categories.  The standards for LDT2, LDT3, and LDT4 are shown in tables 4-32 through 4-34.

b The test procedure for measuring exhaust emissions has changed several times over the course of vehicle emissions regulation.  The 7-mode procedure was used through model year 1971 and was replaced by the CVS-72 procedure beginning in model year 1972.  The CVS-75 procedure became the test procedure as of model year 1975. While it may appear that total HC and CO standards were relaxed in 1972-74, these standards were actually more stringent due to the more stringent nature of the CVS-72 test procedure. Additional standards for CO and composite standards for NMHC and NOx tested over the new Supplemental Federal Test Procedure will be phased-in beginning with model year 2000.   These standards are not shown in this table.

c Emissions standards had to be met for a useful life of 5 years/50,000 miles through model year 1983, and a full useful life of 11 years/120,000 miles was defined for 1985-93 (several useful life options were available for 1984).  Beginning in model year 1994, emissions standards were established for an intermediate useful life of 5 years/50,000 miles as well as a full useful life (full useful life standards are shown in parentheses).  HC standards, however, were established only for full useful life. Tier 1 exhaust standards, except particulates standards, were phased in during 1994-96 at a rate of 40%, 80%, and 100%, respectively. Particulate matter standards were phased-in at a rate of 40%, 80%, and 100% during 1995-97.

d The cold CO emissions standard is measured at 20 0F (rather than 75 0F) and is applicable for a 5-year/50,000-mile useful life.

e GVWR is the maximum design loaded weight.  LVW is the curb weight (nominal vehicle weight) plus 300 pounds.

f Manufacturers can opt to certify vehicles for a full useful life of 15 years/150,000 miles and either have (1) intermediate useful life standards waived or (2) receive additional NOx credits.

g The "Prior to controls" column reports emissions estimates of a typical newly manufactured car in the years before exhaust emissions certification standard were implemented.

h No estimate available.

i In 1968-69, exhaust emissions standards were issued in parts per million rather than grams per mile and are, therefore, incompatible with this table.

j No standard has been set.

k The term "tier" refers to a level of standards for specific years.  Interim Tier 2 refers to an intermediate level of standards that move manufacturers toward compliance with Tier 2 standards. Interim Tier 2 and Tier 2 standards are established as "bins." Each bin is a set of standards for NOx, CO, NMOG, formaldehyde, and particulates (HC and NMHC standards are dropped for Tier 2 and Interim Tier 2). Manufacturers may certify any given vehicle family to any of the bins available for that vehicle class as long as the resulting sales-weighted corporate average NOx standard is met for the full useful life. The Tier 2 corporate average NOx standard is 0.07 grams/mile. Interim corporate-based average NOx standards are based on vehicle type. The interim corporate sales-weighted average for LDT1 vehicles is  0.3 grams/mile. Tier 2 standards will be phased in at a rate of 25% in 2004, 50% in 2005, 75% in 2006, and 100% in 2007. During this period, all LDT1 vehicles not meeting the Tier 2 standards must meet Interim Tier 2 standards. 


40 CFR 86, Subpart A (July 1, 2000).

Federal Register, Vol. 65, No. 28, pp. 6851-6858.