USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Federal Exhaust Emission Certification Standards for Newly Manufactured Gasoline- and Diesel-Powered Medium-Duty Passenger Vehicles

(MDPV) (Grams per mile)

Embedded Dataset Excel:

Dataset Excel:

table_04_35q207.xlsx (15.63 KB)


KEY:  CO = carbon monoxide; g/bhp-hr = grams per brake horsepower/hour; GVWR = gross vehicle weight rating; HC = hydrocarbons; NMHC=nonmethane hydrocarbon; NMOG = nonmethane organic gases; NOx = nitrogen oxides.

a The MDPV category was created for the Interim Tier 2 and Tier 2 vehicle emissions standards. This category was specifically designed to help bring passenger vehicles (such as large sport utility vehicles and passenger vans) over 8,500 pounds GVWR into the Tier 2 program. MDPVs are defined as any complete heavy-duty vehicle less than 10,000 pounds GVWR designed primarily for transportation of persons, including conversion vans (i.e., vans which are intended to be converted to vans used primarily for transporting people). This does not include vehicles that have 1) a capacity of more than 12 persons total, or 2) are designed to accommodate more than 9 persons seated rearward of the driver's seat, or 3) have a cargo box (i.e., a pickup-bed or box) of six feet or more in interior length. Prior to Tier 2 standards, these vehicles would have been regulated as light heavy-duty trucks.

b Diesel MDPVs can continue to use light heavy-duty truck standards for new vehicle certification until 2008. Note that these standards are measured in grams per brake horsepower-hour (g/bhp-hr). Beginning in 2008, MDPVs must use the same on-chassis testing procedure as heavy light-duty trucks (catgories LDT3 and LDT4) and must meet standards for MDPVs. Beginning in 2009, MDPVs must meet the same standards as light heavy-duty trucks, except MDPVs are not required to meet Supplemental Federal Test Procedure standards.

The cold CO emissions standard is measured at 20 0F (rather than 75 0F) and is applicable for a full useful life of 5-years/50,000-miles.

d Smoke opacity is expressed as a percentage for acceleration, lugging, and peak operation modes. Lugging occurs when a vehicle is carrying a load.

e Manufacturers can opt to certify vehicles for a useful life of 15 years/150,000 miles and have either 1) intermediate useful life standards waived or 2) receive additional NOx credits.

f The term "tier" refers to a level of standards for specific years.  Interim 2 refers to an intermediate level of stndards that moves manufacturers toward compliance with Tier 2 standards.  Tier 2 and interim Tier 2 standards are established as "bins." Each bin is a set of standards for NOx, CO, NMOG, formaldehyde, and particulates (HC and NMHC standards are dropped for Tier 2 and Interim Tier 2). Manufacturers may certify any given vehicle family to any of the bins available for that vehicle class as long as the resulting sales-weighted corporate average NOx standard is met for full useful life. The Tier 2 corporate average NOx standard is 0.07 grams/mile. Interim corporate-based average NOx standards are based on vehicle type. The interim corporate sales-weighted average for MDPVs is 0.6 grams/mile. Tier 2 MDPV standards will be phased in during 2008 and 2009. In 2008, 50% of MDPVs must meet Tier 2 standards; the other 50% of MDPVs must meet interim Tier 2 standards. Beginning in 2009, all MDPVs must meet Tier 2 standards.

g Diesel MDPVs are not required to meet intermediate life standards during this time period.


40 CFR 86, Subpart A (July 1, 2000) Federal Register, Vol. 65, No. 28, pp. 6851-6858.