USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

PPFSWG October 21, 2016 - Agenda

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

U.S. Department of Transportation
Conference Center
Oklahoma City Room
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC  20590
Friday, October 21, 2016

Note: All sessions are open to members of the public who have registered with BTS on or before October 17, 2016 (see BTS contact information at end of agenda)

9:00 AM—Welcome and Port Performance Freight Statistics Program Updates
Pat Hu, Director, Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Rolf Schmitt, Deputy Director, Bureau of Transportation Statistics
U.S. Department of Transportation, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research & Technology

  • Welcome to participants
  • Updates on BTS activities relating to the Port Performance Freight Statistics Program  

9:10 AM—Agenda Overview
Anne Aylward, Deputy Director for Research & Technology
U.S. Department of Transportation, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center

  • Summary of agenda and meeting objectives

9:20 AM—Overview of Working Group Activities   
Randy Iwasaki, Working Group Chair
Executive Director, Contra Costa Transportation Authority

Rebecca Yackley, Working Group Vice Chair
International Trade Specialist, St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation

  • Review and approval of September 23 meeting minutes
  • Review and approval of Working Group work plan
  • Summary of Working Group activities to date

9:30 AM—Overview of First Annual Report 
Matt Chambers, Designated Federal Officer to the Working Group
Senior Transportation Specialist, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Mike Sprung, Designated Federal Officer to the Working Group
Director, Office of Transportation Analysis, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

  • Overview of Annual Report structure and outline
  • Updated lists of top ports
  • Overview of port profiles

9:45 AM—Questions and Discussion (Anne Aylward, moderator)

10:15 AM—Break

10:30 AM—Breakout Session: Refining Recommendations  

  • Working Group members will discuss and refine preliminary recommendations that address the following three questions:
    • How should BTS define different types of ports in terms of tonnage, container, and dry bulk?
    • What nationally consistent measures do you recommend for capacity and throughput?
    • How should BTS collect and report nationally consistent data?

12:00 PM—Lunch (Working Group Members and invited guests only)


1:15 PM—Breakout Session Report Outs and Discussion (Randy Iwasaki, discussion moderator)   

3:00 PM—Break

3:15 PM—Public Comments

It may be necessary to limit the amount of time allocated for verbal statements from the public and/or the number of individuals that may speak. Therefore, we encourage members of the public to submit written statements to sends e-mail) Comments should be received by October 17, 2016.

3:45 PM—Recap and Next Steps

Randy Iwasaki, Working Group Chair

Rebecca Yackley, Working Group Vice Chair

4:00 PM—Adjournment

Submitting Written Comments to the Working Group

Persons who wish to submit written comments may send them by email to sends e-mail) or by mail to Matthew Chambers, Designated Federal Officer, Port Performance Freight Statistics Working Group, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Room # E32-342, Washington, DC 20590. Comments should be received by October 17, 2016.